21.07- Wizard with the scar

Hello to all my readers. Today this main text will be about one book series that changed popular culture and brought back magic and wizards in the lives of millions of kids all around the world.

I am talking about Harry Potter. On this day in 2007. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was published. It became the fastest selling book ever, 15 millions copies were sold in first 24 hours.

I will not talk about plot of the book or do a review because to be honest I newer red it. Yes I am the one of few people my age who never red Harry Potter :).

So I will say something about activities around the book and publishing.

hp2

The launch was celebrated by an all-night book signing and reading at the Natural History Museum in London, which Rowling attended along with 1,700 guests chosen by ballot. Rowling toured the US in October 2007, where another event was held at Carnegie Hall in New York City with tickets allocated by sweepstake.

J. K. Rowling arranged with her publishers for a poster bearing the face of the missing British child Madeleine McCann to be made available to book sellers when Deathly Hallows was launched on 21 July 2007, and said that she hoped that the posters would be displayed prominently in shops all over the world.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows has won several awards. In 2007, the book was named one of The New York Times 100 Notable Books, and one of its Notable Children’s Books. The novel was named the best book of 2007, by Newsweeks critic Malcolm Jones. Publishers Weekly also listed Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows among their Best Books of 2007. In 2008, the American Library Association named the novel one of its Best Books for Young Adults, and also listed it as a Notable Children’s Book.

Now the big question: How did you manage not to read such an important book that almost all of my generation red?

Well the answer is simple for me. I red the J.R.R. Tolkien Lord of the Rings before Harry Potter became huge success. By that I do not want to undermine Harry Potter books, quite the opposite i think that Lord of the Rings is THE fantasy saga so by even putting Harry Potter in the same ball part for me I gave the big tribute to it. My opinion is that Harry Potter is today big part of culture and one of the biggest book series of our time. Well If you want a reason why I newer red it, It is manly because I watched first movie and it was to happy for me like it was written for kids. And of course that was the targeted audience but I was always a lover of heavy dark books. Eventually movies and books became more dark and I enjoyed last three films but newer got the urge to read it. And by the way my favorite character was Severus Snape, he always had that bad ass vibe 🙂

severus

I know that probably most of you are Potter fans and you will hate me after this text, but we all have the right to like what we want :). Of course you are free to write comment and prove me that I am wrong, or if you are LOTR fan help me defend it ).

Have a great 21.07.2014

Sandi

 

2 thoughts on “21.07- Wizard with the scar

Feel free to write whats on your mind

